49ers Coach Kyle Shanahan Explains His Overtime Coin Toss Decision as He Receives Mountain of Criticism

49ers Coach Kyle Shanahan Explains His Overtime Coin Toss Decision as He Receives Mountain of Criticism

San Francisco 49ers head coach Kyle Shanahan has an explanation for one of the most questionable decisions of his team’s 25-22 overtime loss to the Kansas City Chiefs in Super Bowl LVIII on Sunday.

When the game entered overtime, the coach opted to receive the ball first after the 49ers won the coin toss that allowed them the choice.

The postseason overtime rule changed in 2022.

Previously, the second team to get the ball wouldn’t be given a possession if the first team scored a touchdown.

Under the new rule, it would get the ball no matter what. That gives the team that gets the ball second a strategic advantage — one that the 49ers did not take.

Shanahan was asked about his decision during his postgame news conference.

“We wanted the ball third,” the coach said.

“If both teams matched and scored, we wanted to be the ones who had the chance to go win,” he said.

“We went through all the analytics,” Shanahan said.

The 49ers were limited to a field goal on their first possession of overtime.

The Kansas City Chiefs went on to score a touchdown on their first OT drive to win the game.

Shanahan’s decision was hotly criticized by football analysts and fans.

Many pointed out that possessing the ball second would have given the 49ers a drive in which they knew precisely what was required to either continue or win the game.

For example, they would have known what to do on fourth down on their drive.


This article appeared originally on The Western Journal.

Related Articles

Support His Glory

His Glory NEWS Newsletter

This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.